This is an archive of the official website for the IUCrXVIII Congress at Glasgow in 1999. Some images and text may be missing and some links no longer work.

    Friday 6th August


    Dave Cox

    Impact of Powder Diffraction on Materials Science

    Chair: D. Louër


    Johann Deisenhofer

    Membrane Protein Structure: An Exciting Frontier

    Chair: A. Leslie


    Membrane Proteins and
    Transmembrane Signalling

    Chair: S. Buchanan
    Co-Chair: S.R. Sprang


    Structural Enzymology and Unusual Chemistry

    Chair: W.H.E. Saenger
    Co-Chair: G. Oliva


    Chemical Insights from Charge Density Studies

    Chair: M. Spackman
    Co-Chair: T. Koritsanszky


    Challenging Rietveld Refinements

    Chair: R.B. Von Dreele
    Co-Chair: D. Louër


    Neutron Studies of Stress/Strain

    Chair: T. Holden
    Co-Chair: M. Hutchings


    Advances in Liquid Structure Determination

    Chair: M. A. Ricci
    Co-Chair: A.K. Soper


    Structural Motifs and Multidomain Proteins

    Chair: O. Herzberg
    Co-Chair: M. Safro


    Structure from Pictures: Direct Macromolecular Structure Determination by Electron Microscopy

    Chair: H. Saibil
    Co-Chair: R. Henderson


    X-ray and Neutron Complementarity

    Chair: B.Lebech
    Co-Chair: J.W. White


    Industrial On-Line X-ray Analysis

    Chair: M. Bellotto
    Co-Chair: D. Taylor


    Interfaces, Thin films and Multilayers

    Chair: P. Fewster
    Co-Chair: S. P. Sen Gupta


    Molecular Magnets

    Chair: O. Kahn
    Co-Chair: L.K. Thompson


    Michail Kovalchuk

    X-ray Standing Wave Technique - Structure-Sensitive Surface Spectroscopy

    Chair: R. Feidenhans'l


    Marin van Heel

    Cryo-Electron Microscopy of Single Particles: The Structure of the E. coli Ribosome

    Chair: D. Stuart